Living With Sickle Cell Disease

So, I’ve been in the hospital now for over a week with this sickle cell crisis. I was actually here the week before for stomach pains and vomiting, then I got out that wednesday and had to go back early the next morning..crazy. For those of you who don’t know, Sickle Cell is a blood disorder; instead of my red blood cells being normal sphere (circle) shaped, they’re crescent shaped so they don’t flow throughout the body properly the way they should. When this happens oxygen doesn’t get circulated and this causes extreme pain and swelling. Me and my brother both have Sickle Cell. This crisis was pretty bad, it hasn’t hurt this much in awhile. I had fevers and could barely walk. I’m doing much better now since I’ve had the blood transfusion yesterday, I needed two units of blood. Mine was really low (5.5) and most of it was sickled so the transfusion was definitely needed. Hopefully I’ll be out of here within the next few days. A lot of people never have to be in the hospital in their life, but to me this is normal I’ve been in and out of hospitals since I was a kid. This is why I always say people don’t know just how good they have it in life. If some people had to spend a day in my shoes I guarantee they wouldn’t last to the end. God put this disease in me and my brother life because he knew we would be able to handle it (even though it is still extremely hard to deal with). But there’s no use in complaining about it, I’m still alive and that’s all that matters. Anyway, I’m going to start doing a lot more blogs on my sickness, since it’s such a huge part of my life and not many people know about it who better to get awareness out there than someone with Sickle Cell?? Later readers!

20120410-193151.jpg

Leave a Reply

