Living with Sickle Cell Disease 2

Well I’m in the hospital once again. People are always shocked by how often I have to go to the hospital, but for me it’s just normal. I’ve been here for four days now and should be released sometime today; so this hospitalization is actually one of my shorter stays. I’m usually in here for a week or more. I’ve been having really bad stomach pains so that was the reason for this time. I didn’t even know Sickle Cell pains could be in the stomach but my doctors say that must be what it is, and plus while I was here my feet started hurting too and I know that’s from the Sickle Cell, so I guess their right. I’m so ready to go home! I’ve been getting sick a lot lately and haven’t really had the time to do anything. Hopefully after this my next crisis won’t happen for awhile. I’m still trying to get me and my moms jewelry business up and running, and being sick all the time is making that task almost impossible. I’m not a quitter though so it’ll get done. I’ve done so much with it already so I’m not giving up. Anyway…at least these past few visits to the hospital hasn’t required me needing anymore blood transfusions, I’ve had so many that I’ve lost count of them years ago. That’s why I have iron overload now which, of course, isn’t good. I’ve been in this hospital so many times that all the nurses know me (and my family) by name! I guess that’s good though, because when I come they know exactly how to care for me (including the doctors). Yeah, I may be in this hospital a lot but I am still truly blessed. My motto is: someone always has it worse. So even though my situation isn’t the best, I just constantly remind myself of that. That really helps too, for those days when I’m feeling sorry for myself or am in a lot of pain. Someone always has it worse… Bye!

20120529-100128.jpg

Leave a Reply

