Home For Thanksgiving?

Hey Readers! A lot has happened in the last two days since I wrote the last blog. Remember in my last blog I was debating on whether or not to go through with the procedure to have fluid sucked out of the abscess in my right hip? Well, I didn’t have to make a decision, my doctor made it for me. He had them do a C-SCAN on me which is different than a MRI. The problem however, was that because I have Sickle Cell, they couldn’t give me the contrast which would have allowed them to see exactly how much fluid is in the abscess. So, because of this, the doctor decided against having the procedure done. Since the abscess isn’t hurting me as badly as it was, he’s just going to continue with the antibiotics. Now, because he wants to do that, some other problems have arisen. He wanted to have a Pick-Line put in my arm because it’ll last longer than the central line (needle in my neck) I have now, and I could go home with it. Well, it turns out that since I’ve had a port before I’m no longer a candidate for the Pick-Line; because of placement and some other crap. They said I can have a Tunnel-Line put in though, but…..I’ll have to wait until MONDAY…MONDAY! When my nurse told me all of this (just this morning) I wasn’t even shocked anymore. Who knew one hospital visit could have this many things go wrong and happen?! So, come MONDAY, ugh, they will put in the Tunnel-Line, which is better than a Pick-Line it’s almost like the port I had so I can go home with it and it’ll last longer than the Pick-Line. The reason it’s important that I go home with one is because the doctor is going to send me home with I.V. antibiotics; since he decided not to do the procedure I’m going to have to be on antibiotics for weeks. The I.V. antibiotics will work faster than the pill form. I just want to go home, I don’t care what they do at this point, I just want them to do it so I can be out of here! Last year I missed Thanksgiving because I was in the hospital sick, I don’t want to miss it again. I already had to spend my birthday here, so I’ll be very disappointed if I miss it this year too. As always, I’ll keep you all up to date on what’s going on here, when I know something, you’ll know. Later Readers!

4 thoughts on “Home For Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

